Mathematical Lexicon


drapeau français british flag

Introduction

Procedure

Download

Contributions

Warning : The lexicon files offered here are made for working on the Macintosh computers, together with the spell checker Excalibur. This one in turn interfaces easily with many word processors, including Appleworks and mostly Alpha, which makes it a perfect tool for typing in TeX or LaTeX. Nonetheless, these lexicons can be adapted to other platforms (see Procedure). A somewhat less complete french lexicon dedicated to the ispell spell checker can be found as Français-GUTenberg 1.0. To the best of my knowledge, no such file or program exist for english mathematical words (but I will be happy to be contradicted). However most spell checkers already know a great many mathematical words (at least the non technical ones).

Two lexicons are proposed: one for french and one for english mathematical words. The second one is shorter (1000 entries instead of 2700), mostly because english possesses less words (for obvious grammatical reasons), but also for lack of expertise of the Author. Expectedly, mistakes are more probable in the english lexicon than in the french one. Both contain usual mathematicians names (not all ;-). See Contributions if you want to signal mistakes, make additions or comments.

Nota bene : some spellings are questionable. That is always the problem with new words; but there may also be various ways of writing the same word. That is the case for "exotic" names, but also for british spelling versus american spelling. So far the latter has been chosen. However an author wishing to use the british spelling ought to edit the source file and make the appropriate changes (rather than adding new words).


History : version 1.0
Latest update 2000-06-25
Author : Pascal Romon

Lexique mathématique


drapeau français british flag

Introduction

Mode d'emploi

Téléchargement

Contributions

Attention : les lexiques proposés ici sont conçus pour fonctionner sur Macintosh avec le correcteur d'orthographe Excalibur. Ce dernier s'interface facilement avec des traitements de texte, notamment Alpha, ce qui en fait des outils idéaux pour l'écriture en TeX ou LaTeX. Néanmoins ces lexiques peuvent être adaptés à d'autres plateformes (voir la rubrique Mode d'emploi). Un lexique (moins complet et en français uniquement) pour le programme ispell est disponible : Français-GUTenberg 1.0. À ma connaissance, il n'existe aucun lexique anglais dédié aux mathématiques (mais je serai ravi de me tromper); notons néanmoins que les lexiques anglo-saxons usuels comprennent souvent un grand nombre de termes mathématiques.

Un lexique français et un lexique anglais sont proposés. Le second est plus bref (1000 mots contre 2700), en bonne partie parce que l'anglais contient moins de mots (pour des raisons grammaticales essentiellement) mais aussi par manque d'expertise de l'auteur. De même les erreurs sont plus probables dans le lexique anglais que dans le français. Noter que les deux contiennent des noms propres usuels. Voir la rubrique Contributions pour toute remarque.

Nota bene : certaines orthographes sont discutables, soit qu'il s'agisse de néologismes, soit qu'il existe plusieurs façons d'écrire un même mot; c'est le cas pour les noms propres "exotiques" mais aussi pour les orthographes américaines et anglaises - pour l'instant ces dernières sont peu représentées. Concernant ce dernier point, il semble qu'un auteur souhaitant utiliser préférentiellement l'orthographe anglaise devrait plutôt éditer le lexique en transformant les orthographes.


Historique : version 1.0
Mis-à-jour le 25-06-2000
Auteur : Pascal Romon